Tripura: BJP to celebrate ‘Vijay Diwas’ across the country today

Mar 6, 2018

“With the support of 1 independent we are comfortably placed to form d government”, tweeted Ram Madhav. However, independent candidate Tongpang Ozukum and the Janata Dal (United) Nagaland chose to help the BJP reach the 31 mark in the 60-member assembly. The party is 10 seats short of a simple majority.

The figures at 6.30 pm indicated that the NPF had won 27 seats and its allies – Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party and Janata Dal (United) had won one each.

Late last night, however, the Congress had met Meghalaya Governor Ganga Prasad to stake claim to form the next government. “I think it is not a victory for the BJP, it is the failure of the Congress and surrender by the BJP”, Banerjee said.

Kolkata: Accusing the Congress of total negligence in contesting the Tripura Assembly elections, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Saturday said she had approached Congress President Rahul Gandhi for alliance but was not listened to.

Senior CPI (M) leader, MV Jayarajan said in a Facebook post that the BJP’s victory in Tripura was the result of money power and the “unholy alliance with terror groups”.

Tripura, like numerous tribal dominated states, has been an active workground of the RSS and its many affiliates, including the Sewa Bharti and the Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram that had been working in the region for more than four decades.

This had come as a major boost for the party opposed to CPI (M). The party laid the burden of Tripura defeat at the door of the Congress. In 2017 polls, BJP got three out of six seats in Dahod. Indicating the extent of BJP’s inroads, the tribal seat of Asharambari has for the time not gone to the CPM.

“However, there is a decline of 6-7% vote share of the Left front”.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Hindu nationalist party ended 25 years of uninterrupted communist party rule in a northeastern state and consolidated its position in two other states in key provincial elections. It already has governments in Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Assam. While Rio remained in the party for a few months, he later joined the NDPP, with the party declaring that he would lead the NDPP’s charge in the election.

The BJP has come a long way in Tripura.

The CEO was also not able to provide the winning margins of all the candidates, including in the Noklak seat, where the BJP’s H Haiying was reported to have won against three incumbent ministers and three-time victor P Longon by a margin of only five votes. Its ally IPFT, which fielded candidates in nine seats, got almost 8 per cent votes. The BJP is also leading in another 12 constituencies and the IPFT in one. Of the 50 candidates it fielded in 2013, 49 lost their deposit. We are still talking to different parties, have made our proposals and are trying to unite all the leaders on an anti-Congress front. In Town Bordwali seat in urban Agartala zone, former Congress leader Asish Kumar Saha defeated Forward Bloc nominee by a massive margin of 11,178 votes.

Wang Qishan China's former anti-corruption czar and official who is regarded as Chinese President Xi Jinping's right-hand man walks past the president as they arrive for the opening session of the annual National People's Congress in Beiji


Leave A Comment